Tags

,

HornetsMontageWeb

Hornets7

I am constantly inspired by nature. Last summer a huge hornets nest appeared on the maple tree in our front yard. For months I watched this phenomenon from afar wondering what was inside. During the winter months, the nest looked like a natural christmas ornament. Even though I knew the hornets were long gone, I was reluctant to take this bauble off the tree. Well, this weekend, my husband cut the nest down and let me explore the inner structure. Of course, I went online to make sure there were no baby hornets waiting to emerge and I found that after their life cycle and the temperatures dip below freezing, the hornets abandon their nests and go somewhere else to hibernate for the winter. Still, it was a bit unnerving taking a knife to the very light papery nest. But what I found inside was incredibly beautiful!

Mother Nature really knows what she is doing.

